• Kenneth Crooks, Jr.
    Executive Director Emeritus

  • As times change, what previously was a ‘dialogue about race’ has evolved into a holistic approach to diversity in our community and beyond.

    One Columbus, has also evolved, strengthening its core mission: striving to inspire, motivate, promote diversity, and ensure that each member of the community is respected and valued. Recognizing and appreciating diversity is an obligation to which each of us must be committed. If we accept and act on this challenge, then Columbus will truly become a ‘One Columbus’.

2011 Annual Meeting and Holiday Event

One Columbus Annual Meeting and Holiday Event


James Brooks, Mayor Teresa Tomlinson, Mr & Mrs Ed Wilson, Farhad AliFarhani

Minutes from the

December 12, 2011
One Columbus Annual Meeting

The 2011 annual meeting of One Columbus was called to order by Mr. Jorge Vega at 12:44 on December 12th in the Conference Room of the Columbus Consolidated Government Annex.

Board members in attendance were Lee Brantley, Ken Crooks, Rev. J. H. Flakes, Henry Holt, Ivelisse Quiñones, Trip Tomlinson, Jorge Vega, Dr. Florence Wakoko, Chris Warren, and H. Berrien Zettler.

Also in attendance was Robert Anderson (advisory committee member).

Three proposals were presented at the Annual Meeting by presiding officer Jorge Vega.

1. Mr. Vega presented a recommendation to create the new position “chair emeritus.”

The motion was approved by consensus.

2. Mr. Vega presented the slate of officers for 2012, as follows:

Rev. J. H. Flakes, Jr., Chair Emeritus
Mr. Lee Brantley, Chair
Mr. Jorge Vega, Co-chair
Dr. Ivelisse Quinones, Treasurer
Mr. Christopher Warren, Secretary
Ms. Brandi Dawson, Assistant Secretary

The motion was approved by consensus.

3. Mr. Vega presented the slate of new board members for 2012, as follows:

Ms. Theresa El-Amin (Southern Anti-Racism Network)
Dr. Frederick Gordon (Columbus State University)
Ms. Winnie Torain (Mayor’s Commission on Unity and Diversity)
Ms. Amy Walters (Columbus Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of Georgia)
Mr. Christopher Warren (Chattahoochee Valley Libraries)

The motion was approved by consensus.

With the formal business of the meeting concluded, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Christopher Warren, Secretary

Photos from the Meeting