• Kenneth Crooks, Jr.
    Executive Director Emeritus

  • As times change, what previously was a ‘dialogue about race’ has evolved into a holistic approach to diversity in our community and beyond.

    One Columbus, has also evolved, strengthening its core mission: striving to inspire, motivate, promote diversity, and ensure that each member of the community is respected and valued. Recognizing and appreciating diversity is an obligation to which each of us must be committed. If we accept and act on this challenge, then Columbus will truly become a ‘One Columbus’.



One Columbus is a nonprofit organization formed exclusively for charitable and educational purposes.  Its mission is to conduct educational and promotional programs that will foster unity and cooperation among the people of Columbus and the surrounding area, bringing the community together in racial and ethnic harmony, establishing a stable multi-racial, multi-ethnic environment.

The Corporation shall disseminate information and conduct education, research and public events for the purpose of fulfilling its mission.It is governed by a board of directors who are representative of a cross-section of the community and shall be no less than eight (8) nor more than thirty-five (35) members.

Board members shall be elected and appointed according to the bylaws of the corporation and shall serve for three-year terms; approximately one-third for two-year terms; and approximately one-third for one-year terms.   At each annual meeting, the slate of board of directors shall be elected to serve for the next year.

The Advisory Committee is a list of prominent citizens who serve as friends of One Columbus who offer financial, spiritual, political, or other support to the organization.  The Advisory Committee meets at least annually, and is changed, among other things, to support the Annual Holiday Event which  comes the first Monday each December.


To serve a term ending 12/31/2012 (7)
Giselle Brachter
Franklin Douglass
Theresa El-Amin
Frederick Gordon
Charles Harp
Jeffery Salkin
Amy Waters
To serve a term ending 12/31/2013 (8)
Travis Chambers
Joey Loudermilk
Marcus Gibson
Ivelisse Quinones
Trip Tomlinson
Fife Whiteside
Sherman Whitfield
H. Berrien Zettler
To serve a term ending 12/31/2014 (8)
Farhad AliFarhani
Lee Brantley
Brandi Dawson
J.H. Flakes Jr.
Henry Holt
Winnie Torain
Jorge Vega
Florence Wakoko
Ken Crooks, Executive Director
Advisory Committee(15)
Carmen Cavezza, Chair
John D. Allen
Robert Anderson
Vivian C. Bishop
Ann Caggins
Nemia Chai
Isaiah Hugley
Claudya Muller
Bob Poydasheff
Ben Richardson
Calvin Smyre
Evelyn Turner-Pugh
William B. Turner
Jim Wetherington
Mimi Woodson